Admin

Child Abuse Prevention and Reporting

Child Abuse and Neglect
Recognizing and Preventing Child Abuse

Child abuse is more than bruises and broken bones. Other types of abuse, such as sexual abuse, emotional abuse or child neglect, also leave deep, long-lasting scars. By learning common types of abuse and where to get help, you can make a huge difference in a child’s life. 

Child abuse prevention means understanding and using the best strategies and techniques to recognize the symptoms and patterns of abuse before they occur. This can be achieved by providing families and communities with education, support and resources.  If you would like more information, feel free to visit your school nurse, counselor or social worker, or browse through the websites listed below.

To learn more, click here: 

US Department of Health and Human Services http://www.childwelfare.gov/pubs/factsheets/signs.cfm
Texas Department of Protective and Family Services, A Parent's Guide To CPS http://www.dfps.state.tx.us/child_protection/about_child_protective_services/parentguide.asp
Kidscape Child Abuse Signs and Symptoms  http://www.kidscape.org.uk/professionals/childabuse.shtml
If you have cause to believe that a child has been sexually, physically or emotionally abused or neglected in any way, please report.  All employees of public, charter or private schools as well as day care facilities are required by law to report any known or suspected abuse.

Child Abuse Hotlines: 
  • To report abuse or neglect in Texas, call 1-800-252-5400 or 1-800-458-9858
  • To get help or report abuse anywhere in the US or Canada, call the Childhelp National Child Abuse Hotline at 1-800-4-A-CHILD (1-800-422-4453). 
  • www.txabusehotline.org


Texas Department Of Family and Protective Services

In Texas, anyone who suspects that a child is being abused or neglected has a legal obligation to report it. Professional reporters are required to report suspicion of abuse or neglect within 48 hours.

A Professional Reporter is anyone licensed or certified by the state or works for an agency or facility licensed or certified by the state and has contact with children as a result of their normal duties. By law, professionals may not delegate their duty to report to another person such as a coworker or family member.

Professional reporters include, but are not limited to:

  • Teachers
  • Nurses
  • Doctors
  • Daycare employees
  • Employees of a clinic or health care facility that provides reproductive services
  • Juvenile probation, detention or correctional officers

It is the responsibility of professionals to report and the responsibility of the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services to investigate allegations or suspicions of abuse or neglect.

Training Objectives

This training seeks to provide school staff with the following:

  • Abuse and neglect definitions
  • Introduction of two realistic abuse/neglect reporting scenarios
  • A walk-through of the web-based e-Reporting system
  • Guidance on commonly asked questions
  • Approximate Time to Complete Course: 1 hour

You will have the opportunity to earn and print a "Certificate of Completion" at the conclusion of the course "Review"


Reporting Suspected Abuse or Neglect of a Child Training