The awards recognize the exceptional leadership of active, front-line female administrators who are making a difference in the lives of students.

Superintendent Dr. LaTonya M. Goffney is currently in her second year overseeing the school district.

AASA, The School Superintendents Association, recently announced the finalists for the organization’s 2020 Women in School Leadership Awards. The awards, sponsored by Horace Mann and AASA, pay tribute to the talent, creativity, and vision of outstanding women educational administrators in the nation’s public schools. Aldine Independent School District’s Dr. LaTonya M. Goffney is a finalist for the Superintendent Award.

“This recognition illustrates AASA’s practice of honoring our nation’s outstanding female educators and the growing need to foster pathways for more and more women who wish to advance their careers,” said Daniel A. Domenech, executive director, AASA. “Celebrating these accomplished professionals will lead to an increasing number of women entering the field of public education administration. We are extremely proud of our finalists and look forward to honoring them at our national conference. We thank Horace Mann for partnering with us on this initiative.”

Dr. Goffney has increased choices and opportunities for students with programs such as the ACE Model, a pilot program for three-year-olds, the two-way dual language program, Avalos P-TECH School, and partnering with organizations like EMERGE Fellowship. Goffney also launched the district’s five-year strategic plan in July 2019. Click on the image to read more.

The awards are designed to recognize the exceptional leadership of active, front-line female administrators who are making a difference in the lives of students every day.

Also named finalists for the Superintendent Award are Susan Enfield from Highline Public Schools in Burien, Washington, and Candace Singh of Fallbrook Union Elementary School District in Fallbrook, California.

The AASA also honors women in two other categories. The Central Office/Principal Award goes to a central office or building-level leader, while the School-Based Award is presented to a classroom teacher or school-based specialist.

Aldine ISD received recognition from the Texas Education Agency based on the 2018-2019 STAAR scores. AISD increased the number of ‘A-rated’ schools and moved the district from a ‘C’ rating to a ‘B.’ Click to read the full story.

Candidates are judged on leadership in meeting the learning needs of students, personal and organizational communication strength, constant professional improvement of knowledge and skills, and active community involvement.

The final award recipients in each category will be announced during the AASA National Conference on Education, Feb. 13-15, 2020, in San Diego, California.

For more information on the Women in School Leadership Awards, please visit the AASA website.

AASA, The School Superintendents Association, founded in 1865, is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders in the United States and throughout the world. AASA’s mission is to support and develop effective school system leaders who are dedicated to equitable access for all students to the highest quality public education.