Principals Sandra Doria and Jeana Morrison-Adams were shocked after learning they were named District Principals of the Year. District leaders surprised the winners at their campuses on February 18.

The Aldine ISD 2020 Principals of the Year are Sandra Doria from Worsham Elementary School and Jeana Morrison-Adams from Hoffman Middle School. The school leaders were selected for numerous reasons including innovative leadership and collaboration to drive improvement. They will represent Aldine ISD at the Region 4 Education Service Center (ESC) Principal Recognition Ceremony in April. 

Each year, Region 4 has the honor of recognizing the leadership, service, and dedication of two campus administrators — one elementary and one secondary — from each of the districts.

Elementary Principal of the Year

Sandra Doria, has more than 19 years of experience in education, including 10 years in administration. This is her first year as the principal of Worsham Elementary School. Doria has served as a math teacher, math skills specialist, and assistant principal. She also served as principal at Thompson Elementary School (2015-2019) before being named principal at Worsham Elementary School in 2019.

Secondary Principal of the Year

Jeana Morrison-Adams has more than 25 years of experience in education. Morrison-Adams joined Aldine ISD in 2002 as a U.S. History teacher at Plummer Middle School (2005-2008). She has served as a curriculum skills specialist and testing coordinator at Hall Education Center (2008-2011). She was also an assistant principal (AP) at Grantham Academy (2011-2015) before she was named principal of Reed Academy (2015-2018) and Principal of Hoffman Middle School in 2018.

Doria and Morrison-Adams learned of their wins during surprise visits from District leaders. The group was led by Superintendent Dr. LaTonya M. Goffney, Chief of Schools Katy Roede, Chief Human Resources Officer Dr. Javier Villarreal, Chief Communications Officer Sheleah Reed, Executive Director of Employee Quality Robin Williams, Executive Director of Talent Acquisition and Development Dr. David Villareal. 

This year a new recognition was created. Rookie Principal of the Year was selected based on how the rookie principal has made an impact on their campus, overcome challenges, and showed significant growth.

Rookie Principal of the Year

Aisley Adams of Nimitz Ninth Grade School was named Rookie Principal of the Year. Adams has 12 years of experience in education. She has served as an English Language Arts teacher, a skills specialist, a curriculum coordinator, and a dean of instruction, before being named principal of Nimitz Ninth Grade School in 2019. 


Aldine ISD will recognize Adams, Doria, and Morrison-Adams during the Educators of the Year Breakfast on March 6 at the Hilton Houston North.